An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Rear Admiral Darryl L. Walker

Deputy Commander, U.S. Fleet Cyber Command / Joint Force Headquarters-Cyber (Navy), U.S. TENTH Fleet


Rear Admiral Darryl "D-Day" Walker enlisted in the United States Air Force in 1985 as an Air Traffic Controller. He received his commission in the United States Navy through the Naval Aviation Officer Candidate School, and was designated a Naval Flight Officer in 1992. He is a graduate of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and the United States Naval War College.

Throughout his service, D-Day fulfilled various operational tours, including: Commander and Executive Officer of VAQ-139, deployed onboard USS Ronald Reagan (CVN 76), as well as the Commodore and Deputy Commodore of the Electronic AttackWing United States Pacific Fleet, flying the EA-18G Growler. He has amassed an impressive 3900 flight hours and 696 carrier-arrested landings throughout his career.

D-Day’s shore tours include: S-3B NATOPS Evaluator; Viking Community Assignments Officer; Deputy Director, PERS-43; NAE Diversity Director; Chief of Naval Operations Strategic Studies Group; Chief of Staff to the Chief Information Officer, Secretary of Defense; Executive Assistant to the 11th Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; Executive Assistant to the 32nd Chief of Naval Operations. As a Flag Officer, Walker served as the Deputy Director of Operations (J-3), U.S. Cyber Command, and currently serves as the Deputy Commander of Joint Force Headquarters-Cyber (Navy), United States TENTH Fleet.

His awards include the Defense Superior Service Medal, Legion of Merit, Meritorious Service Medal, Air Medal, Joint Service Commendation, Navy Commendation Medal, USAF Commendation Medal, and various unit and campaign awards.